Recipe:Alfredo Sauce

I love pasta. LOVE. Really.
My favorite pasta has always been miniature shells in Alfredo. I can’t get enough of this creamy sauce and I just adore how the tiny shells cradle little puddles of the sauce so that they explode in my mouth like bursts of awesomeness. Mmmmmmm.
When I first realized I could learn to make the foods I loved most, Alfredo sauce was near the top of the list (just behind my grandmother’s dinner rolls.) it took a few years and lots of experimenting to find the perfect recipe. But then, one day, it all came together in a tiny saucepan and I’ve never looked back. Now family and friends often request my Alfredo when were together for dinner. It’s shocking how simple it is to put together. So easy, I even taught my youngest how to do it just last week. She’s excited to be able to make her favorite pasta now (though she prefers bow tie pasta with her Alfredo.)

IMG_1412.JPG

Alfredo Sauce
1/2 c butter
1/2 c heavy cream
1/2 c Parmesan cheese
Melt butter in a saucepan with the cream. Stir in cheese and stir until melted. You can add some garlic or basil if you prefer. (I prefer to sauté minced garlic in the butter before adding the cream.)

That’s it. Isn’t it easy?
One thing I’ve learned is that Kraft grated Parmesan will thicken up your sauce better. I suspect this has something to do with the anti-clumping agent used in that product. If you use a fresh grated Parmesan then you’ll get better depth of flavor, but it will also be more “stringy” as it melts.

And that’s all there is to it. Go forth and make great pasta.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

