Chaos and Grace

IMG_1557.JPG

My lovely assistants

Tonight was so crazy! It was my first night at my new job. 100 people showed up to see if the new cook was any good and I intended to wow them with an Italian feast. Then… Everything that could go wrong, did. The ovens wouldn’t heat so I was scrambling to get the food out on time, my son accidentally put dish soap in the dishwasher and it started spewing out foam, I forgot to make dessert, so I had to send my husband to the store the minute he walked in the door. It was chaos!
But then, just as I was wishing I could hide in a closet and cry until they all went away, the most incredible thing happened. Someone stepped through the kitchen door and said, “That was fabulous! I just want you to know that was the best chicken I’ve ever had.” And the person standing next to them agreed and the guy across the room nodded with this big adorable smile on his face and pretty soon there was a steady stream of kind words washing over me. And you know what happened?
I believed them.
This is so surprising to me, but it’s true. Their words changed my entire view. My whole attitude of shame and defeat was simply washed away by their kindness. Isn’t that amazing? What an example of how our own words can be powerful. We hear a lot these days about the effects of bullying, but what about the power you have to change someone’s view for the better? Your words matter, so use them well. You might save someone from crying in a closet. Or, you might just save someone’s life. Be kind and speak goodness at every opportunity.

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

Ephesians 4:29

1 Comment

  1. Sounds like a crazy and exciting night! I’m so happy those people spoke up and changed your night. The simplest thing sometimes has a profound effect. And sometimes, you never even know the extent of the effect. Great Job!
    .

    Like

Leave a Reply

